What I’ve been reading/writing

Well, you surely don’t care what I’ve been reading (though, sadly, I do have a list), but here are some pop science and jazz books I stirred myself to review this year. I’m selective nowadays, and choose only new stuff that I know I really want to read and to make myself think about a bit.

I fancy myself a fairly skilled reader, but after 40-odd years of reviewing there’s still nothing like knowing you’ve agreed to offer a few coherent paragraphs to make you focus on a book a little more.

For TheArtsDesk I’ve done:

Sally Adee – We Are Electric

Jonathan Kennedy – Pathogenesis

Helen Czerski – The Blue Machine

Caspar Henderson – A Book of Noises

and a couple for LondonJazzNews

So one every couple of months: nothing like the rate when I reviewed mildly obsessively back in the 1990s (and, heavens, even got paid for it…) but a comfortable rhythm for these days when there is no longer required reading.

CD reviews happen a bit more often, and are listed separately on the old jazz blog here.

Leave a comment